top of page
Search
  • Kaylee Bauer

Semana uno



Well you’d think after all these years of studying Spanish I’d have it down but in just my first week here I’ve been schooled. I actually know close to nothing. Each day I learn more and more as I am forced to communicate in Spanish only. I live in a world where I don’t quite understand everything yet but I know I’ll get there with practice. My host parents are so patient and kind as they let me speak basic Spanish, I probably sound like I’m five to them. Usually in Panama, if you speak the way I do, people will quit listening to you or make fun of you, so I am so glad that they have patience with me. I live in such a cute little cement home that‘s decorated with my host families pictures. Originally, I thought I was living with a couple and then I soon found out I was living with their two sons and wives and kids. It’s not the biggest family here but it’s enough to keep me busy. My host niece is five and she is brutally honest with me. She loves princesses and singing, so we get along perfectly. Everyday when we are done with training or classes usually the volunteers hangout and play volleyball, basketball, or participate in some yoga (thank you Morgan). It’s been a busy week as we’ve been in and out of the office getting quick orientation stuff done. We officially started real training today and started our language classes. I have a ton of homework to do all ready. On our only day off so far we all went to the mall to get our phones switched over and then on Sunday we went swimming with a host family. My family doesn’t go to church because all the men work 6 days a week. They only have Fridays off which is a big bummer. I adore my host mom but she’s older and can’t move around much so I rely on other volunteers inviting me along with them to things to get out of the house. Now to tell you some interesting things in Panama!! It’s the dry season right now so water is scarce, so usually I take 2 minute showers, I’ve become very proficient. I’m lucky to have a bathroom indoors, some people have bathrooms outside and they take bucket showers. Which I have taken a bucket shower and it’s not terrible, at least it cleans off my sweat from all the humidity. There is only one highway in Panama so traffic is REALLY bad. If you think I-5 is bad, try sitting in 91 degree weather with no breeze for four hours because that’s what we do sometimes. No one goes outside between 11-3 because it’s too hot, yet we do because we have a sentence for death. Animals are both pets and strangers here and if they are pets they stay on the porch with a leash. No one knocks, you just yell something and then walk in. Everyone is friendly and always says hi. Women do not drink here unless alone in a house. Now that I’m used to the weather a little I’m already sunburnt and I use a blanket at night! I hand wash my clothes and hang them up to dry, no shame in hanging my underwear anymore, my host mom did it for me first so I had no choice but to get used to it. As you can tell, week one has been crazy and everyday is definitely a new day. I can’t wait to let you know more next week!!

25 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page